Advisory Board for Non-Discrimination

The Advisory Board for Non-Discrimination works with the office of the Non-Discrimination Ombudsman.

The tasks of the Advisory Board are to promote equality in general, to act as a channel for dialogue and information exchange between those working to prevent discrimination, and to address issues related to equality. 

The Advisory Board consists of parties who are prominent for the prevention of discrimination and promotion of equality. The Non-Discrimination Ombudsman serves as the chair of the Advisory Board. The tasks, composition and activities of the Advisory Board are determined in a Government decree.

The Government appoints the Advisory Board for four years at a time. The Advisory Board is an independent body.

Composition of the Advisory Board for the term of office 2.4.2020–1.4.2023

For 2.4.2020–1.4.2023 the Government has appointed the following members of the Advisory Board (subject to change during the term):

Non-Discrimination Ombudsman Kristina Stenman


  • Jari Antikainen, Valvira – Finnish National Supervisory Authority for Welfare and Health
  • Hunderra Assefa, NUMU – Young Muslims in Finland
  • Leif Hagert, Finnish Roma Youth Council
  • Mika Happonen, Finnish Ministry of Finance 
  • Satu Honkala, Finnish National Agency for Education
  • Hanne Huvila, Finnish Ministry of the Interior
  • Seija Jalkanen, Finnish Ministry of Employment and the Economy
  • Anni Koivisto, Sámi Parliament
  • Petteri Keränen, SETA – LGBTI Rights in Finland
  • Niina Kilpelä, Finnish Ministry of the Environment
  • Outi Kumpuvaara, Finnish Ministry of Social Affairs and Health
  • Katri Kuusikallio, National Forum for Cooperation of Religions in Finland
  • Anja Laherma, STTK – Finnish Confederation of Professionals
  • Petra Laiti, Suoma Sámi Nuorat/Young Sámi in Finland
  • Anu-Tuija Lehto, SAK – The Central Organisation of Finnish Trade Unions
  • Tove Lindell, Regional State Administrative Agency for Western and Inner Finland
  • Johanna Lindholm, Swedish Assembly of Finland
  • Reetta Siukola, Finnish National Institute for Health and Welfare
  • Bahar Mozaffari, MONIKA – Multicultural Women’s Association, Finland
  • Elina Nieminen, Finnish Disability Forum
  • Ville Nieminen, Association of Finnish Local and Regional Authorities
  • Marica Nordman, SAMS – The Finnish Association for Disability Cooperation
  • Mikko Nyyssölä, Confederation of Finnish Industries
  • Yrsa Nyman, Finnish Ministry of Justice
  • Pia Puu Oksanen, Amnesty Finland
  • Anne Perälahti, SOSTE Finnish Federation for Social Affairs and Health
  • Toni Piispanen, Finnish Ministry of Education and Culture
  • Miia Pitkänen, Finnish Central Union for Child Welfare
  • Jani Ruuskanen, The Finnish Digital Agency
  • Atte Rytkönen, Federation of Finnish Enterprises
  • Tero Saarikivi, National Police Board of Finland
  • Sanna Saarimaa, The Finnish Association of People with Physical Disabilities
  • Miika Sahamies, Akava – Confederation of Unions for Professional and Managerial Staff in Finland
  • Margarita (Meg) Sakilayan-Latvala, Finnish Anti-Racist Forum
  • Aija Salo, The Finnish League for Human Rights
  • Helena Torboli, Finnish Federation of the Deaf
  • Mikko Valtonen, Finnish Chambers of Commerce
  • Marjut Vuorela, VTKL – The Finnish Association for the Welfare of Older People
  • Mika Välimaa, The Threshold Association
  • Esa Ylikoski, Union of Freethinkers of Finland